Start Here » Tips » Education » 7 Fun Reads for Young Adults

Saving with TaLis is a reader supported website and may earn a small commission from affiliate links in some articles. Please read my full disclosure HERE. Thank you.

7 Fun Reads for Young Adults

Below are some suggestions on fun reads for young adults. The e-books are on sale for a limited time too, starting at $1.99.

Micah’s Super Vlog

Micah's Super Vlog
Micah's Super Vlog

Micah’s Super Vlog

In the third book of the Micah’s Super Vlog series based on JellyTelly’s popular animated web show, Micah and his friends learn the importance of honesty and of believing the best about each other. When Armin’s sketchbook, Lydia’s lunch, and Micah’s shoes go missing at school, will the gang turn against each other before discovering the truth? Based on the popular JellyTelly show, Micah’s Super Vlog, in book three of this series things mysteriously go missing at school. Accusations fly and friendships are put on the line. Faced with the struggle, can Micah and his friends learn to believe the best about each other, and work together to uncover who (or what) is really to blame?



Girl in the Blue Coat2>
Girl in the Blue Coat
Girl in the Blue Coat

Girl in the Blue Coat

The bestselling, “gripping” (Entertainment Weekly), “powerful” (Hypable), “utterly thrilling” (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery. Perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys. Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion. On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person *Don’t miss Monica Hesse’s newest masterwork of historical fiction: They Went Left*



The Skin I’m in

The Skin I'm in
The Skin I'm in

The Skin I’m in

Maleeka suffers every day from the taunts of the other kids in her class. If they’re not getting at her about her homemade clothes or her good grades, it’s about her dark, black skin.When a new teacher, whose face is blotched with a startling white patch, starts at their school, Maleeka can see there is bound to be trouble for her too. But the new teacher’s attitude surprises Maleeka. Miss Saunders loves the skin she’s in. Can Maleeka learn to do the same?



Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity
Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity

The beloved #1 New York Times bestseller, a “fiendishly plotted” (New York Times) ” – Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun. When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy? A universally acclaimed Michael L. Printz Award Honor book, Code Name Verity is a visceral read of danger, resolve, and survival that shows just how far true friends will go to save each other.



Maniac Magee

Maniac Magee
Maniac Magee

Maniac Magee

A Newbery Medal winning modern classic about a racially divided small town and a boy who runs. Jeffrey Lionel “Maniac” Magee might have lived a normal life if a freak accident hadn’t made him an orphan. After living with his unhappy and uptight aunt and uncle for eight years, he decides to run–and not just run away, but run. This is where the myth of Maniac Magee begins, as he changes the lives of a racially divided small town with his amazing and legendary feats.



The Candymakers

The Candymakers
The Candymakers

The Candymakers

Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew? Logan, the Candymaker’s son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone? Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink? Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it’s a feather? Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who’s always scribbling in a secret notebook? This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant’s perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.



The Wild Robot

The Wild Robot
The Wild Robot

The Wild Robot

Wall-E meets Hatchet in this New York Times bestselling illustrated middle grade novel from Caldecott Honor winner Peter Brown Can a robot survive in the wilderness? When robot Roz opens her eyes for the first time, she discovers that she is all alone on a remote, wild island. She has no idea how she got there or what her purpose is–but she knows she needs to survive. After battling a violent storm and escaping a vicious bear attack, she realizes that her only hope for survival is to adapt to her surroundings and learn from the island’s unwelcoming animal inhabitants. As Roz slowly befriends the animals, the island starts to feel like home–until, one day the robot’s mysterious past comes back to haunt her. From bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown comes a heartwarming and action-packed novel about what happens when nature and technology collide.


Hope these books give you some ideas to keep entertained and learning.

You may be interested in: How to Make Academic Presentations More Attractive (Free)

Happy savings, TaLis

Some graphics made with Canva.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *